What the Hell Do You Do With Wheat Berries?

image

I was feeling extra “earthy-granola” one day when I went grocery shopping so I came home with a shit-ton of wheat berries. A year later and they were still sitting here like, “Hey dumbass, you should really make something with this 4-pound bag of bird seed you bought.”

So I did. And I have to say, I rocked it. I made the most delicious mushroom soup (which got eaten so fast I didn’t get a picture), and an even better cold salad. We didn’t eat ALL of it (but only because there are consequences for eating that many garbanzo beans), so I was able to get a picture.

I just kinda threw a bunch of shit together and, not thinking it would be anything special, didn’t write it down. Well, wouldn’t you know it, I created a frickin’ masterpiece. So I scrambled to write down what I could remember before I got distracted (SQUIRREL).  Here goes….

Wheat Berry Cucumber Salad

1 cup cooked wheat berries

1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained

1 medium cucumber, seeded and diced

2 tablespoons reduced-fat mayonnaise

2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon dried parsley flakes

1/2 teaspoon dill weed

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1/2 teaspoon salt

Throw it all in a bowl and stir. You can store it in the fridge for up to 3 days, but it won’t last that long.

 

Leave a Reply

