Books Are Like Babies

LOOK WHAT I GOT IN THE MAIL TODAY!!  It’s my first proof!  See how I’m holding it? See how it’s an ACTUAL BOOK? This is crazy. Good thing I ordered a proof before I bought a thousand of ’em because I screwed up some stuff. But my dedicated graphic designer, Terri, got on it right away, so we should be good to go.

As I held this in my hands today, I realized that writing a book is a lot like having a baby.

  1. You’re putting yourself out there, which makes you vulnerable. Not vulnerable in a naked, sweaty, legs-in-stirrups, giving-birth kinda way, but vulnerable and uncomfortable nonetheless.
  2. Before you do it, you think it’s going to be so much fun! In reality, it’s a messy, it’s a fuck-ton of work and it sometimes sucks the life out of you.
  3. You know it’s not going to make you rich (but if you’re lucky, it’ll go to college and get a really good job and can finance your retirement).
  4. Seeing the fruit of your labor makes it all totally worth it. Although you still won’t even consider another one until the sleep deprivation from the first one wears off. (Don’t read too far into this…I am not, repeat NOT, having or even considering having another baby. Cookbook maybe, but baby? Absolutely not.)

 

One thought on “Books Are Like Babies

Leave a Reply

