Just Call Me “The Punishment”

Besides teaching cooking classes for kids, I work as a corporate wellness dietitian during the day. People come and talk to me one-on-one about their health and/or diet and we figure out little changes they can make to improve it. Most people come voluntarily and realize that their employer is providing them a pretty awesome service FOR FREE.

On the flip side, some people are kind of a little bit “forced” to see me. If somebody’s cholesterol is all jacked up or their BMI is high, or their blood pressure is so off-the-charts that their head might literally explode, some of their benefits ($$$$) are withheld. In order to earn them back, they HAVE to come and talk to me, or at least be in the same room with me for 15 minutes.
This is why I started referring to myself as “The Punishment.” Most people find the humor in that, but it really pisses other people off so I have to be careful who I say it to.

Luckily, I only have two I’m-not-telling-you-shit-I’m-only-here-cuz-I-have-to-be clients who see me as the enemy. That’s a pretty small percentage of the people I see but it makes for a long-ass day when they’re both on my schedule within an hour of each other.

It’s freezing out and all I want to do is curl up on the couch with my electric blanket and nice warm bucket of chocolate. But since I don’t have a bucket of chocolate, I made these instead…

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Not exactly a bucket of chocolate, but they’ll do.

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Makes about 34 cookies

Ingredients

  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter or trans-fat-free margarine, softened
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In medium mixing bowl, combine oats, flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.
  3. In large mixing bowl, beat brown sugar, butter, applesauce, egg and vanilla with an electric mixer until well blended.
  4. Add oat mixture to butter mixture and stir just until combined.
  5. Gently fold in raisins.
  6. Using small cookie scoop or tablespoon, drop dough onto ungreased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. Flatten cookies slightly so they’re about 1/2-inch thick.
  7. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until edges start to brown. Cool on cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining dough, letting cookie sheet cool between batches or using second cookie sheet.
Leave a Reply

